The CEO Ritual

Every visionary leader should engage in a process of mind renewal to maintain a creative balance.  A few tips that I use on a daily basis may be a good start, but each leader should cater their routine to their own unique lifestyle to become a person of value and increase their longevity professionally and personally.

  • Awaken with a spirit of Appreciation: This is the first concept based upon Law of Attraction, which many of the most successful individuals in world history adapted and received optimal results.  I open my eyes with an attitude of gratitude daily, and take time to count my many blessings.  This includes my Source, family, friends, staff, strategic partners, and associates.  It’s quite amazing how much more is gained when we take a moment to be aware of what we already possess.
  • Exercise: I alternate weight training/cardio at the gym and running in the park at least 5 days a week, only missing one day for business purposes on a normal basis.  Exercising regularly not only aids in a better body image, but it is a motivating tool that enhances your brain power and encourages an overall healthier lifestyle.  I’m usually mentally drained by the end of the day, so this process must take place each morning for me, but it helps me to burn more calories throughout the day, and gets my creative juices flowing.
  • Find your Breathing Space: Throughout my day, from beginning to end, I am always searching for a moment to enjoy a breathing space.  Vacations are somewhat scarce right now with my current workload, so “staycations” are very necessary for my peace of mind.  I’m currently in transition with office space, so I’m working more from home during the holidays, and I always work to find a moment to stop working, breathe, and enjoy beautiful scenery.  My home office is nestled between two windows, in which I can easily focus on the running flow of water through the creek near my back yard, or try to locate the owl outside my window.  If running to the ocean isn’t an option at the time, those moments are what sustains me during the most challenges parts of my daily journey.
  • Eat properly: I’ve learned the hard lesson that I must have breakfast, take a lunch break and snack sensibly throughout the day to aid in my health and longevity as a leader.  A hungry or malnourished executive is a cranky one!
  • Organize your thoughts & your schedule: I take time each Sunday into Monday to visit my weekly schedule and organize my days properly.  It’s impossible to lead a team and satisfy clientele without proper arrangement of tasks.  I also spend a lot of time pondering how to approach the tasks in a manner that is most effective and will result in the best outcome.  Yes, things are subject to change, but being thoroughly prepared is the first step in adapting to such shifts.
  • Add music to your day: During my daily exercise routines, I always play “hype” music to keep me moving and focused.  However, immediately after my workouts and prior to beginning my business day, I play calming music to prepare my mind to concentrate and be attentive.  This time of year, I enjoy the sounds of the season while I work.  All remaining months, jazz and classical genres are my preference.  Music shifts your mood to wherever you want to be at that moment, so choose it wisely!
  • Keep a journal: I meet many talented individuals who are constantly talking about the endeavors they wish to achieve; most of them are very interested in becoming authors.  My best advice is to journal your ideas during the most ideal times for your schedule–whether it be mornings, evening, weekends or what have you.  Before long, you may just have that book! Moreover, it’s always nice to re-visit from whence you’ve come
  • Rest well: There is no way to operate on fumes and meet your fullest potential.  You must rest to be alert, healthy, wise and in good spirits.  This doesn’t mean sleep, become most visionary leaders work while they sleep.  But find rest where you can…fatigue is the root of all failure.
  • EnJOY your weekENDs: In some seasons of life, our weeks never end.  But as much as possible, I try to reserve my Friday evenings through Monday mornings for rest and time with my family.  I would suggest the same for everyone who can.

Remember, there is no set formula for anyone, because our lives are so very different.  However, everyone seeking to meet goals need to subscribe to whatever works best to live our best, most fulfilling lives.

What is your best advice for the CEO and executive routine?

About Candace Reese ~ The CEO Pundit™

With a reputation for challenging small visions and transforming them into global notoriety, Candace Reese is a nationally-recognized entrepreneur and inspirational speaker. Specializing in corporate and philanthropic strategy management, Reese has a strong track record in exceeding expectations. After several years in corporate and nonprofit public relations, marketing and advertising, Reese founded Envision Global Corporation to serve a diverse clientele list of individuals, organizations and corporate clientele by delivering leading-edge, innovative image building campaigns, with a global focus. Having an affinity for representing socially-conscious clientele, through Envision Global, Reese has managed projects and provided unlimited business and lifestyle resources to a plethora of distinguished entrepreneurs, executives and philanthropists who have been featured in national and international multi-media outlets, including online/digital media, nationally-syndicated radio and television broadcasts. To accommodate the growing needs of her global client base, Reese has launched EnviBlu Lifestyle Concierge; the travel, concierge and ground transportation vertical to Envision Global. Outside of her work with Envision Global, Reese’s passion lies in her public speaking and community initiatives. As a children’s advocate, she offers inspiring words to young men about etiquette and image, as well as young women on entering and maintaining healthy relationships. Reese also engages with entrepreneurs and business executives on leadership, marketing, public relations, professional etiquette, and effective, next-level business practices as an executive coach. Reese is a well-known supporter of local and national community organizations, being frequently tapped by nonprofit and religious organizations to strengthen their image and media strategies for initiatives, conferences and goal-oriented campaigns.
This entry was posted in JOY Notes, The CEO Pundit™ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What Are Your Thoughts? Chime In!

